blanking sockets in a bathroom, how much?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi everyone. i'm wondering how much it would generally cost for a sparky to blank a couple of double sockets in an old bedroom im turning into a bathroom? assuming that thats all that needs to be done. i think they should still need to be accessable as the floor is being boarded and tiled. thanks in advance.

Sponsored Links
First up let me say that I ain't a sparkie by trade but I have done city a guilds in various electrical qualifications. The opinion I am expressing is my opinion and may be incorrect.

This is an interesting one. Under schedule P you are allowed to carry out minor works which include extending or modifying an existing ring main or lighting cirtuit, providing you don't alter the wiring to the consumer unit in any way and providing that the alterations are not in a bathroom or kitchen. Now what you are proposing is to remove some sockets from a room that is not yet a bathroom. Surely you could remove the sockets, pull the cables back to the void space in the ceiling or floor and joint the cables with a suitable junction box. You would then be free to plaster over the old socket holes. This room is not yet a bathroom so one would think you weren't breaking the regs to do that but don't quote me. A sparkie may contradict me on this, but that is what I understand from schedule P.

The most important thing is that you don't leave unused ring main cable in places it doesn't relate to a socket. Future occupants of the home have no way of knowing that the redundant live cable is there and this could cause serious accidents if they decided to put nails or screws into the walls.

Everything that dented has said is true except for
Surely you could remove the sockets, pull the cables back to the void space in the ceiling or floor and joint the cables with a suitable junction box