Bleeding the radiators & boiler pressure (newbie needs h

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi all. First of all - I am a total newbie when it comes to DIY and I have never did much of it, so apologies for any silly questions.

Me and my girlfriend have recently moved into a 2 bed house with CH. We've previously lived in a flat which had electric heating, and so I don't really know anything about CH.

I did some research on web though...

The pressure in our boiler is really high, it oscillates between 2.5 and 3, where 3 is the max the boiler can handle - according to the dial.

Apparently the most common cause of that is air in the CH system. The remedy is to bleed the radiators, which I intend to do as soon as my radiator key arrives (yes, I didn't have one!).

I switched the radiators on tonight to check which ones need bleeding - and the internet teaches us ( ;) ) that it's the ones that are not fully heated at the top parts...

Unfortunately mine were cold at the bottom parts (all of them), and I had to switch the heating off as the pressure was getting to 3.5, which was already at the red mark on the pressure dial.

So my question is - what should I do? Do I bleed them all? Will this cause massive pressure drop and a need to re-pressurise the boiler? I need some guidance and advice, as the nights are getting cold and we really need to start heating the house...

Thanks in advance for any kind advice and help!

Sponsored Links
everything you need to know is in the WIKI at the top of this page

Boiler make and model please, and a better description of your system.
How many times is this requested?

If you rads are cold at the bottom, it could be that you have sludge in the system, and that means a flush out and chemical cleaner would need to be introduced to help clean out the sludge.