Boiler Efficiency Increase Design Project

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi,
I am a University student working on a project that involves finding the most cost effective way of increasing the efficiency of the boiler in a local high school.
In the project we are to select one, or a combination, of three optimization strategies: increase combustion air temperature, decrease stack temperature and/or reduce XS air levels within the boiler. One other option is to look at installing a new boiler, however we are supposed to try and minimize cost as much as possible.
There are two main things that I am hoping someone might be able to help me with.
The first is that there is very little information on these boilers. All we have is that the two main boilers that are used for heating the facility are Vulcan (Vulcan Iron and Engineering Limited, Winnipeg, Canada, a company that no longer exists) gas-fired, fire-tube boilers (size A213-A) controlled using Fuel Master CG-100 control units. The control units are 4000 MBTU/hr, max 4200 MBTU/hr. However, the only real information we have on these boilers is based off of the specs for the control units, there are no drawings or spec sheets for the boilers (no expected efficiencies, XS air levels etc.). I am wondering if anyone has any experience with this type of boiler or knows of any analogous boiler's that I could get and use information from. Any information we can get, whether it is on these boilers, or boilers that would be similar to them (new and old) would be a great help.
We will also look to compare the approximate performance of these boilers to a new comparable boiler (if possible).

The retro fit option we are looking at is installing ducting that could allow us to include an air heater as well as control the air being supplied to the boiler. I am looking for any advice/experience that people have had using air heaters in a smaller application like this. How effective are they in practice?