broadband working, landline phone not working?

Discussion in 'Alarms, CCTV & Telephones' started by HellsBells1, 19 Feb 2012.

  1. HellsBells1

    Joined:
    16 Sep 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Aberdeen
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi, Our landline phone has stopped working, but our broadband continues to work. I have included some photos to show our set up, any ideas on what might be wrong? We pay for broadband, phone and tv with sky.
    I'm wondering if the thing that says 11B on it has broken/gone?
    The cable comes into the house by the window, to a small box with a screw on the top (see 1 of the three pics) and then the cable runs to a bt master socket? (unless that is what the thing by the window is? I'm not sure what these things are all called), anyway, and we don't have a dialling tone, but our internet is working? It's only the two blue cables that run to A and B.
    Any ideas please?

     
  2. Spark123

    Joined:
    2 Jun 2005
    Messages:
    14,379
    Thanks Received:
    424
    Location:
    Cumbria
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Try plugging a known working phone into the test socket behind the removable front portion in the Master Socket (NTE5), you aren't meant to play about with anything in the back of this socket.
    If you still can't get a dial tone then report it to Sky as the fault is at their end.
     
  3. simonpolly

    Joined:
    29 Jan 2009
    Messages:
    301
    Thanks Received:
    15
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Its possibly dis one leg,this means one of the wires needed for your dial tone has become dissconnected somewhere between you and the exchange,if you dial your number from your mobile does it ring or is it engaged.?
     
  4. HellsBells1

    Joined:
    16 Sep 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Aberdeen
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    it rings
     
  5. simonpolly

    Joined:
    29 Jan 2009
    Messages:
    301
    Thanks Received:
    15
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    :idea:
     
  6. teleotony

    Joined:
    29 Feb 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Buckinghamshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    the ringing sound you hear when you ring your number from your mobile is the telephone exchange, not your house line.
    the main nte master socket (big one) will only require 2 wires connected to it, on the back plane 2 & 5 A & B
    normally blue (touch of white) and white/blue.
    The removable front plate is used to connect all other wiring (extension sockets in the premises)
    If you have any other extensions in the house removing this section will disconnect them.

    I assume you have tried a second adsl adaptor into the master socket.
    Still no joy ?
    Plug in a confirmed working standard telephone. (borrow the neighbours) ?
    Dial tone ???
    If not check the connection to the terminals, yours looks ok from the pic ( give them a tug), the wires are only stripped back a bit to expose the conductors.
    The cable will go to the block terminal (small white box )
    Same 2 cables will be connected to an external feed, Maybe screw could be idc (punch down)
    If both in/ out screw give a tug, looks bit damp on the window still.

    You can try, ring the number, have a long nose pair of pliers (insulated) and short out the A & B legs
    On the main socket or the small block terminal
    You will cut off the ringing line if the circuit is complete from the exchange.
    Line continues to ring ?
    you can still have adsl service without the normal side of the line working

    Report fault to line & Sky

    Replace kit as found
     
  7. madman41

    Joined:
    22 Feb 2011
    Messages:
    449
    Thanks Received:
    21
    Location:
    Humberside
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    What ?

    You may very well damage equipment between your "short" and the exchange, or even the exchange itself.

    Even worse , everything from the NTE backwards is not yours, and could lie you with a hefty bill if traced back
     
  8. bernardgreen

    Joined:
    3 Nov 2006
    Messages:
    11,966
    Thanks Received:
    995
    Location:
    Bedfordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Shorting the A and B to each other or to ground will not damage equipment. The worst it can do to the system is that the exchange sees it as a faulty line and stops using the line until the fault is cleared.
     
  9. Alarm

    Joined:
    18 Oct 2010
    Messages:
    8,970
    Thanks Received:
    529
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    And as above, Broadband can work on "single leg".
     

Share This Page