Can anyone help me....

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
.....before I go crazy, I have just purchased two new light switches for the hallway and landing, they are both double two way switches, I'm having problems with wiring them up, I probobly should not have started this as I'm certainly no electrician. The downstairs switch controls the hallway and landing the upstairs switch controls the landing and bathroom, I wired the downstairs switch and got both lights to work but am having great difficulty with the upstairs one ( also the downstairs has now stopped working since I tried wiring the upstairs ) I have posted a picture of the wires and would be very grateful if someone could tell me which terminal to connect them. I have tried doing a serch on the web for some sort of diagram to help me but had no luck and like the complete novice that I am did not even bother making a note of where the wires were situated on the old switch :rolleyes: so cant even put that one back. The photo of the switch is not the best but it says on the back...

1 (way) 2 1 (way) 2

com com

Also there are six terminals on the switch and seven wires to connect and the earth wire is in a block.
Any help much appriciated.
Thanks all.

Sponsored Links
Sponsored Links
Downstairs switch:
switch one to operate hall light; 2 core cable red to common terminal & other red to terminal 1

switch 2 to operate landing light; 3 core cable red to common terminal, yellow to terminal 1 & blue to terminal 2

Upstairs switch:(you will need to find out which t/e cable operates bathroom light & which operates landing light)

Switch one to operate bathroom light, (one of the) 2 core cable red to common black with red sleeving to terminal 1

switch two to operate landing light, 3 core cable red to common, yellow + 2core cable red to terminal 1, blue of 3 core cable + black of 2 core cable to terminal 2

Downstairs switch: