CCTV..what do I need?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi all. I need a cctv system for a small shop. Two cameras is sufficient. After 2 years of hard going trade wise, my budget is going to be limited. I've had a look on several sites and am now more baffled than before. I have a friend who is an electrician and while he doesn't have any experience of installing cctv he will be able to fit it no problem but he can't really give me advice on what to buy. I reckon it would take me all day to type in all of the questions I have, so I wondered if anyone can direct me to a site that will have the relevant info (bearing in mind I have no knowledge whatsoever of cctv)? All the sites I've found are sellers and I can't really see the info I need. I don't want to spend a fortune but neither do I want to buy something over the internet only to find it's not what I need. Any help welcome!

Thanks in advance
Mike

Sponsored Links
Without any information how can anyone help you??

size of area?
Any possible blindspots (shelving, corners etc)?
What are you trying to achieve?
How much detail do you require?
lighting?
Remote viewing?
Budget?????

if you are looking for general information it is available on google but you may need to be more specific on the questions you put in.

If you require specific advice from here then we will also like google need specific information.

Such as covert or overt cameras, how long do you want to record for, what quality image do you want to get out from the recordings, do you want to record at night time when it is dark. do you need a monitor to view images on. the list is only limited by imagination and prices.

Is it to catch someone of suspected pilfering or general deterant from pilfering or is it to catch people loitering outside out of hours etc.

Info will unlock answers.

Rob

Sponsored Links