Chimney Breast Restore & Stove Installation

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi,
After thinking about it for months- getting a wood burner that is- we were instantly convinced when we saw the Burley Stoves on Thursday, they are 90% efficient and look great.
So last night i ripped some on the plasterboard covering up the old fireplace. First i was horrified at the state of the brick work but as i opened more up there is a nice brick arch higher up, not central which is annoying but still should look nice. The bad brick work was just where the old larger fireplace had been filled in to accommodate the smaller one.

Now the fireplace is redbrick (as is the whole house) when doing other repairs i have always used a usual cement mortar. The house is after all rendered in a cement render. But as this is a feature should i use lime mortar to repoint? and if so which type? Non-Hydraulic or hydraulic? and is there anything else i should know about lime first? i have never used it before.

As for the stove install im probably going to go down the route of getting a HETAS guy in to have a look and seeing if he will let me do all the donkey work and then he can just connect it all up- to save on cost.

This all obv might not make alot of sense without pics so i will take some this evening.

Cheers
Ben

Oh also where is best to get Lime from?
I'm down in deepest darkest Cornwall

Sponsored Links
Ok, Have answered my own question am going to use Lime Putty based mortar. and am now also looking into other lime products as i think some of the damp issues in the house could be due to the use of external and internal modern finishes.
and the Cornish supplier of lime products is
http://www.cornishlime.co.uk/

Looks like the rule of thumb for mortar is to use mortar softer than your brick/stone/block.

also remb, that lime motar takes longer to set.

when we saw the Burley Stoves on Thursday, they are 90% efficient and look great.