Chrome browser alternatives

JBR

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I have been using Firefox as my default browser for several years but, due to some instability problems (eg, closing it and then re-opening resulting in the message 'Firefox is already running'), I thought I'd give Chrome a try. I synchronised bookmarks and loaded my start up tabs and found things work well, with one exception.

What Chrome is sadly lacking is a permanent bookmarks side bar. They have a bookmarks bar at the top, but it takes several clicks and scrolling to get to what I want. The Firefox equivalent is far easier to use.

Having explored their help topics and help forum, I found that this is a very popular discussion and many people have requested that Chrome introduce what should be a very simple change to its software. Unfortunately, it appears that the people who run the browser are just not interested.

Many others have said they'll move back to Firefox, but still no action from Chrome so I think I'll have to ditch it too.

Questions:

Does anyone know of any means of creating a side bar in Chrome that behaves like the Firefox one?

Does anyone have experience of any other alternative browser that performs in the same way as Firefox? Internet Explorer is, I believe, crap but there is a new one that comes with Windows 10 (Edge, I think?), but I have yet to try that.

Sponsored Links
There's an extension called "bookmarks side panel" for Chrome that gives a similar setup to FF.
I've got it installed, but have got used to Chrome's own bookmark setup now.

One thing I've only found out today, is that Chrome may be more secure. It runs in it's own "Sandbox" which limits access to other things on the computer, and what it can do on the computer. FF apparently does not have the same.

Having said that I've used FF for many years with no problem.