Clarification of hob / oven wiring.

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I a newby to this site. (I am a qualified electronics engineer but need some clarification regarding hob / oven regs.) :rolleyes:

My retired mother has just built a new house. Very nice, however the electrician has not finished completely and done a runner :!:, as yet the house is not yet certified, but most of the second fit is done.

Now to the point. :rolleyes:

He has installed a 6mm cable from the dist. board to the kitchen (about 4 metres in length. protected by a 40A breaker.) This goes through a simple but large isolation switch which is .5 metre from where the hob is.

Question 1. Does this meet current regs. for a new build?

The hob is 6.5 kw and the double oven / grill is also 6 kw. resulting in 12.5 kw. and thus 52 Amps without diversity.

Question 2. Can I fit a terminal junction box near the hob to split the supply to both the hob and the double oven unit? If so would a 45A junction box be OK ?

Please help, Steve

Sponsored Links
Hi there

You need to think about the cables that will be going from this isolator to the hob and over. Their only means of protection will be the 40A breaker at the board, so they need to be rated at 40A or above (ie 6mm cable or equiv). Is this what you've got?

It would be preferable for each item of equipment to be separately isolatable. However if you did use a JB it would need to be accessible and 45A would be OK (but I'm not sure if you can get them, so you might have to go up to 60A.

The diversity looks OK. At worst the breaker will trip when your mum puts all the rings and ovens on, but there's not much you can do about that because 6mm cable can be protected by a maximum 40A mcb.

Hope this is helpful

SB

sparkybird said:
Their only means of protection will be the 40A breaker at the board, so they need to be rated at 40A or above (ie 6mm cable or equiv). Is this what you've got?

SB

Yes, The cable from the isolator is 6mm.