Combi-Boiler burst a pipe due to high pressure

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi Can anyone help please?

We have just bought our first flat and it has a combi-boiler. We managed to get it working after a fortnight with no hot water and heating last night. Woke up early this morning to a bang a water pouring from underneath the boiler. It looks like a pipe has burst

When we got the boiler working, the pressure gauge was showing right at the top (above about 4 bars) so could this be the cause? Our friend told us that this just meant the gauge was broken.

The pipe is right at the bottom of the combi boiler and looks like the hole in it should have another pipe coming off but may have been blocked with something. The something it was blocked with is where it is leaking.

If so, can anyone tell me how to reduce the pressure and possibly how to mend the pipe. I'm a complete newby!

Thanks

sugarflux

Sponsored Links
The easiest way to reduce the pressure is by the pressure release valve.......if you don't know where or what it is then loosen the bleed screw on a radiator. You only want 1-1.5 bar pressure max as for the pipe I need more info.

It sounds from your description that the 'pressure relief valve' has done its job by opening when the pressure is too high, although you would expect the water to be diverted out side. Question is how did it get to 4bar.
Theres not a lot of point in having a gauge if we don't accept what it is telling us, although I do agree we do need some confidence in gauges as to when they were calibrated.
Easiest way to reduce the pressure would be to bleed a radiator if you dont know where to drain valve is.
I take it the leak has stopped if the PRV has re-seated itself or are you saying a pipe has fractured.
:rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes:

Thanks for your help here. The leak has stopped now because i've turned the water off at the stop cock. The pipe itself hasn't fractured. The pipe comes out of the bottom of the boiler.