1. We are pleased to announce the 'Home Automation' forum. Click here to get involved!

Cooker hood on 2.5mm cable

Discussion in 'Electrics UK' started by exeter, 15 May 2007.

This topic originated from the How to page called Installing a cooker hood.

  1. exeter

    Joined:
    15 May 2007
    Messages:
    8
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hello all.

    I have a fused connection unit, which I presume spurs from the ring main, because it is connected to a single T&E cable and when I remove the 30amp fuse which I know protects the ring, the supply stops.

    Before plastering, I ran a 2.5mm T&E from this FCU (vertically, then horizontally) so I could then connect a flex outlet and then a cooker hood. I now know I should have used 1.0mm T&E, but have heard that using larger cable is safer than using too small a cable.

    Does anybody forsee problems using 2.5mm between the FCU and the flex outlet, and a 3A fuse in the FCU?

    Cheers
     
  2. RobFurn

    Joined:
    16 Nov 2006
    Messages:
    402
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    No problem with 2.5 from your FCU to your cooker hood, What does concern me is the vertically and horizontally bit in your thread. Are you aware of Safe Zones?
     
  3. Chri5

    Joined:
    19 Jan 2007
    Messages:
    4,107
    Thanks Received:
    366
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    No that's fine, most would do the same.

    The majority of all socket based ring circuits and spurs are always in 2.5TE

    With smaller cable you are saving pennies and loosing the ability to increase the load on the spur device, should something heavty ever replace the current hood.

    Kitchen electrics are notifiable under Part P as a special area.
     
  4. exeter

    Joined:
    15 May 2007
    Messages:
    8
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    thanks for your replies - I know you're not allowed to embed cable diagonallly and within 150mm of the edge of a wall, shoiuld I have run it horizontally, then vertically?
     
  5. RobFurn

    Joined:
    16 Nov 2006
    Messages:
    402
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Draw us a picture of where you have placed your cables and we will tell you if its ok.
    I would post you a picture of the safe zones but I dont have one to hand however no doubt someone will be along in a bit to post one.
     
  6. sm1thson

    Joined:
    5 Sep 2005
    Messages:
    829
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hull
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  7. exeter

    Joined:
    15 May 2007
    Messages:
    8
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I routed the cable vertically from the FCU a couple of feet and then horizontally, at a right angle, a couple of feet, in line with the flex outlet. So the flex outlet is on a diagonal line from the FCU, but the cable is routed at a right angle.

    If this is wrong, how does one route the cable from an fcu to a flex outlet that is not in the vertical above it? Use metal conduit?
     
  8. ColJack

    Joined:
    16 Feb 2007
    Messages:
    11,774
    Thanks Received:
    408
    Location:
    West Midlands
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    that's fine..

    you can go horizontally or vertically from an accessory..

    which is exactly what you have done.
     
  9. daytona

    Joined:
    2 Nov 2007
    Messages:
    697
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    OP

    the only thing i would say is,keep an eye on how you join the flex to the 2.5 twin and earth,check that the flex doesnt come apart from te connections,double the ends over.

    EDIT:

    just re read your post and your using a flex outlet plate,so no probs there either.


    mrspiers,you havent given us any information regarding the load of said oven or how you intend to run the cable,or anything for that matter.
    might be a good idea to start your own thread instead of hijacking someone elses ;)
     

Share This Page