Cracked concrete in garden office foundation

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hello everyone!

We've had a garden office put in and are unsure if what the guys have done will last or not.

There are already several cracks in the concrete and bits that are over hanging. I'm no expert at this but it doesn't feel like it's been done properly so would be great to get someone else's thoughts on this.

Cheers!

WhatsApp Image 2024-02-26 at 09.18.09.jpeg
WhatsApp Image 2024-02-26 at 09.19.12.jpeg
WhatsApp Image 2024-02-26 at 09.17.48.jpeg

Attachments

• WhatsApp Image 2024-02-26 at 09.17.48.jpeg
    WhatsApp Image 2024-02-26 at 09.17.48.jpeg
    421.2 KB · Views: 59
Sponsored Links
Thanks for the reply George, appreciate the feedback.

So, would your advice be to repour around it? Is that likely to get it even at?

Sponsored Links
> Poured on soil it seems
> poor load distribution of the support beams, which will create stress points as you can see
> should have used rebar
> the concrete is exposed and no water barrier which could lead to rising damp
> are the support beams properly sealed ? last thing you want is for them to rot away
> the power (?) cable should be SWA not twin & earth

Last edited:
I'd be more concerned about the whole design of the base area. Water running down the cladding goes where exactly when it meets the wall bearer? To me it looks like it just runs in on top of the floor bearer and makes the structure wet.

Cladding should stand off from the base so that water running down the cladding is thrown outside the concrete base and can neither run in to the building or across the top of the concrete allowing the bearers to rot.

The power cable is a big cause for concern - it is not compliant and potentially hazardous.

Test it by putting a hose (on "shower" not "jet" to simulate rain) on it and see what happens. If the building leaks, get them back PDQ. If it leaks it isn't fit for purpose.