CRIMINAL JUSTICE SYSTEM

markie said:
Softus Posted the sperm thing to moz instead of you
Ah - I see - I hadn't spotted this until now. My answer:

As far as I know, and remember I'm not an expert, a tissue sample taken from sperm yields no more, or less, DNA information than a sample of from any other tissue.

I suspect that you're thinking of the genetic material that is present in DNA (although this isn't as abundant as you might think), and I guess that you're alluding to the idea that sperm contains more genetic material than a sample from, say, a fingernail. AFAIK, the profiling of crime samples examines mosetly, or even exclusively, non-genetic strands, but this is one that I'll have to look up though, to check my facts.

Sponsored Links
Softus said:
markie said:
Softus Posted the sperm thing to moz instead of you
Ah - I see - I hadn't spotted this until now. My answer:

As far as I know, and remember I'm not an expert, a tissue sample taken from sperm yields no more, or less, DNA information than a sample of from any other tissue.

I suspect that you're thinking of the genetic material that is present in DNA (although this isn't as abundant as you might think), and I guess that you're alluding to the idea that sperm contains more genetic material than a sample from, say, a fingernail. AFAIK, the profiling of crime samples examines mosetly, or even exclusively, non-genetic strands, but this is one that I'll have to look up though, to check my facts.