Crimping for beginners

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi,

I want to extend some 2.5mm t+e and 1.5mm three-core and earth cable in a joist void between upstairs and downstairs in my home.

I can't provide any access once I put the plasterboard back, so I understand the only permissible way to extend is to crimp the wires.

I've never done this before (I've only used junction boxes up in the loft). Do the standard DIY suppliers (Homebase/Wickes etc.) do a crimping kit for beginners?

Are there standard fittings and tools for this job? Would you have any tips for a crimping noob?

Thanks in advance

Jever

Sponsored Links
Have you considered using 20 or 32 amp maintenance free junction boxes?

Hager do them.

This will probably be a better job and easier for you, rather than crimping.

Hi,

Sounds interesting, I'll investigate. How do they differ from a 'normal' junction box? To be honest, I don't currently understand how a standard jb might require maintenance and hence require access. Can you shed any light on this?

Thanks, by the way.

Regards

Jever

Sponsored Links
The Hager maintenance free junction boxes look just the job to me. Looks like I won't have to learn about crimping after all.

Screwfix don't appear to sell them. Can anyone here recommend a supplier?

TIA

Jever

Hi,

Another question: I've been having a look at the Wago boxes and the push-fit connectors that go in them. They don't seem to be rated by ampage. Will the same connector work for 20A and 32A?

TIA

Jever

If you use the wagobox enclosures they have a table on paper inside telling you the rated current for each connector when used maintenance free, plus the total rating for all connections something like 50a. They are easy enough to use and cost isn't prohibitive.
They use the spring loaded connectors so shouldn't have any issue with solid cores or t&e of any kind.
They are reasonably bulky though, so take that into account.