Cutting a cable with the outer sheath

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I’ve been using a pair of pliers and a side cutter to cut 2.5mm T&E cable. It’s often hard work and gets harder with even larger cables. Am I using the wrong tool for this job?

Sponsored Links
Well, you are asking a question much like:
What is the best car to buy. So I would say a Bugatti Veyron.
But you may only want to take a few local trips and don’t have £5million to spend.
So looking at cable cutters. There are some excellent ones that will easily cut cable up to 250mm²
CLICK
That come it at about £100. They have nice long handles and you can use them all day, every day.
If you only want to cut regular domestic cables (including meter tails) then THESE
will be adequate.

Sponsored Links
I am not an electrician but my cheapo VDE side snips from Wickes are fine with 2.5mm.

How old/abused are yours?

Well, you are asking a question much like:
What is the best car to buy. So I would say a Bugatti Veyron.
But you may only want to take a few local trips and don’t have £5million to spend.
So looking at cable cutters. There are some excellent ones that will easily cut cable up to 250mm²
CLICK
That come it at about £100. They have nice long handles and you can use them all day, every day.
If you only want to cut regular domestic cables (including meter tails) then THESE
will be adequate.
Okay let me qualify this. I’m not a professional or do this for a living. I am a keen DIY enthusiast and don’t mind spending a few more quid for something that will last. I often work with cables up to 6mm. Hoping that provides some more context.

I am not an electrician but my cheapo VDE side snips from Wickes are fine with 2.5mm.
For what it's worth, the same here.