Cutting Inwall speaker into Inner Leaf

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi There,

I am currently renovating my lounge and need to cut an inwall speaker into the inner leaf of my exterior wall.

The house was built in the mid 70s and has a concrete block inner leaf.

The speaker gets mounted into a box that is secured into the wall. The hole I need to cut is 435mm wide by 590mm high and needs to go all the way though the inner leaf as the box is 120mm deep.

Are there any building regs for doing this sort of thing? And do you think the wall will need support for such a big hole?

I've read that for chases, you are only allowed to go 1/3 the depth of the wall deep, would this rule apply to what I am doing?

This is my first home and have recently moved in so I am very new to the DIY scene so apologies if this is a stupid question.

Any guidance would be greatly appreciated!

Sponsored Links
Maybe you need a lintel for an opening that big, although it’ll probably be ok

bear in mind cavities often carry water because outer brick skins are often porous and contain leak points.

You need to consider how to deal with that

Maybe you need a lintel for an opening that big, although it’ll probably be ok

bear in mind cavities often carry water because outer brick skins are often porous and contain leak points.

You need to consider how to deal with that
Plus a condensation rich cold point. It'll be knackered over the first winter.
The wall needs building out.

Thanks for the advice! It sounds like I need to do some rethinking.

The box that goes into the hole is completely sealed in place so that no air can travel from the cavity into the room and doesn't touch the outer leaf, the box is then stuffed with rockwool insulation. I was under the impression that would be enough to stop any condensation problems?

On wall speakers and building the wall out isn't an option because it doesnt meet the wife approval factor, oh how simple that would be.