Damp in old house

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi this is my first time on here any I just want some advice on a new house I have moved to,

I live in a old farm house and one of the exterior wall has previously been rendered, the render is now breaking off and the inside walls are now damp, my plan is to strip the old render off and clean up the mortar, re point it if I have to and then clad the exterior with timber, I also plan to put a stud wall on the inside were space is tight with a damp proof membrane, the questions I have are:

What should I use in side as a damp proof membrane I have done a lot of research but one of the builders I have had in said he would put thermal foil insulation in to save room and that it would act as a damp barrier, I wanted to know if that would actually work ?

Secondly can I do the inside stud wall ect before I do the outside work. Or should it be completed after the root problem has been solved.

And with the exterior of the house once the render has been removed, if the mortar in the stone isant very good would it be a bad idea to leave it and just clad over it obviously leaving an air gap

And in all would this stop the damp.

Thanks

Matthew

And just thought of something, would removing the old render now be more damaging then good, I just thought maybe its holding water and if it was taken off even in the wettest weather wouldn’t the stone at least dry off rather then be wet constantly?

Sponsored Links
My first post too mate, Im also on here looking for info and second opinions on restoring an old house. Ive got a bit of knowledge from other sites, books and some local old hands. Im a year into restoring(and living in) an old miners cottage in the forest.