Dimmer switch flickering

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi,

Firstly I'm a novice who knows very basic electricity so please go easy on me :)

I've just bought a new 'hobart 10 light fitting' from homebase with 10w bulbs included which I have successfully fitted in the bedroom. In the ceiling I replicated the wiring from old basic fitting which had 3x blue, 3x brown, 1x earth, all works fine with my existing single switch which had 1x brown 1x blue 1x earth. The problem is I also bought a metal 250w one way dimmer switch with same wiring connections, this works but has a VERY LOUD buzzing sound and flickers almost as badly as strobe lighting however, when turned up to highest setting it does not flicker but still buzzes quite loudly. Would be grateful if anyone could shed any light?

Other points to note:

- On the dimmer switch box it says if you're using halogen, G9 etc... it must not exceed 125w (although 10x 10w bulbs = 100w)

- Have tried another plastic box standard dimmer which did not work at all.

Sponsored Links
The transformer in the light fitting is not compatible with the dimmer you have, or possibly not compatible with any dimmer.

Is the transformer in the light fitting visible? What is written on it?

But without knowing what type of transformer is in the fitting, how can the OP know which dimmer they need to make the light work?

Sponsored Links
without knowing the model of the lights how can i tell the OP. ?

the dimmer he has is not compatible with the light fitted or faulty.

this is precisely what happens when people do diy electrical work.

we can help by advising only, but without the full facts its basic advise and generally hit and miss.

if i was to advise the OP it would not be to tell him the correct dimmer to purchase it would be to say get an electrician in to fit the light and dimmer,

basic testing of the circuit being added should be a priority,

is the fitting earthed. ?
is the cable of correct size,?