DIY Summer house advice please??

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I'm looking at making a summer house from scratch this summer/ autumn and I have been advised to get some blue prints.

I am a complete DIY beginner and have never built anything substantial, such as a summer house. This will be my first project.

Can people offer advice on the following;
- Where can I get blueprints for the project/ and construction guidance?
- Where can I get a list of materials?
- Can someone offer general advice on building something like this?
- Are there build threads on the forum?
- Will a DIY beginner likely be able to complete a job like this/ will I need much assistance?

Please can I have as much advice as possible, especially on the build, and where to start with planning?. This will be very much appreciated.

Thank-you

Sponsored Links
for a complete beginner you would be well advised to consider a kit - even if it's a bespoke one.

Also the price of timber at retail is such that it's often not cost-effective cutting your own compared to the firms that buy it by the containerload from Estonia and feed it through a computer controlled mill.

Look at eg Waltons or Dunster House (not everyone likes Dunster House though).

Hi can someone point me in the direction of a book and/ or plans for for building a basic summer house/ log cabin?

Thank-you

Hi can someone point me in the direction of a book and/ or plans for for building a basic summer house/ log cabin?

Thank-you

I know this isn't what you want to hear, but the fact that you're having difficulty finding them yourself is because there seems to be very little usable plans out there.

I went through the same process as you, just before the summer - I wanted to build my own, figured it would be cheaper, and that there would be tons of resource on t'interweb about it.