Do we have an airlock & what do we do?!

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi, a few weeks ago we had a couple of radiators taken off and put back on for some plastering to be done. When the plumber put them back on he said he'd also turned our pump up to make the radiators more efficient. Since then the hot water taps in the house have gradually been losing pressure to the point where now all we get out of them is a tiny trickle which then stops completely!

Is this called an airlock? And what should be do about it?! Call the plumber back to fix the problem? We couldn't fix it ourselves as we are complete novices : (

Sponsored Links
what type of system do you have ?
working on the radiator side shouldn't alter the hot water from taps.

we have an immersion heater in the airing cupboard and tank in the loft. we're not using the heating at the moment so using the electric immersion for hot water. i've tried putting the central heating on to see if it makes the flow any better and it doesn't.

useally it can get airlocked on the pipe coming out the top of the immersion cylinder.
have you got a mxer tap that runs on cold mains and gravity hot ?
then you can use mains cold to push the airlock out.

Sponsored Links
yes all our taps are mixer tapes. is that when you use a hosepipe to flush out the airlock?? is it easy enough to do ourselves?

yes if you can block the spout with a cloth or your palm on the bath mixer tap providing its mains cold and hot gravity.
block the spout turn on the hot then turn on the cold.
cold will push the hot backwards pushing out airlock.
try that for a few mins then release the spout and turn off cold hot should keep running and flow increase.

i tried blocking the tap but the water just came through the sponge! lol!

if you can't do it that way you can use a hose up the spout and open the hot tap then turn on the cold

Put the sponge in a plastic bag with no holes in it!