Drayton RF3 faulty receiver unit

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hello everyone

I've been using a Drayton Digistat RF3 system for 10 years. Last week, at the height of the heat spell (July 2010) my underfloor heating was turning itself on without notice or intent by me and wouldn't turn off until I switch the mains off thus cutting power to the SCR system. I then went online at Drayton's and elsewhere to investigate possible cause. I went through the troubleshooting procedure supplied in the pdf downloaded from Drayton's website. I have 2 of these units; the first tested fine with the procedural instructions but the second one didn't. It failed when I got to the following point:
1) Pull down battery unit from transmitter unit and allow the screen to go blank.
2) Turn off power supply to the SCR receiver and leave for 5 seconds. (I did this at the mains)
3) Turn on power to the SCR unit and check red light is on.

At this point, there was no red light at all. Prior to this testing, there was a red light although it was dimming but the green light was also working when the heating came on.
I checked that the wiring at the SCR unit is OK and not loose so I assume that there is a fault with the unit and that it needs replacing. Am I assuming correctly?
If so, can I just replace the receiver unit as it appears to be re-mountable onto the existing wired-up back plate. However, as my old SCR unit is about 10 years old, will a new receiver be compatable and work with the old transmitter. (I don't particularly want to replace both unnecessarily). This is because I notice that the new models are called Digistat+3RF as opposed mine which is just Digistat 3RF. I have also found it difficult to locate a trader just selling the receiver, they seem to prefer to sell them paired up which is annoying.

Many thanks for your kind help.

Sponsored Links