drilling into tiling

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi

Complete novice here, so I'm hoping someone can help me

I just bought a house, and the shower rail is drilled into tiling at both ends.
I can see that one end of the shower rail is starting to come out and obviously needs re-securing

2 questions; what tools so I need ? Drill etc I guess ( told you I was a novice!! )...what kind of drill bit will i need etc?

second one - how do I drill the tile without shattering it?

All help gratefully received!

Sponsored Links
Stick a bit of tape where you want the hole and mark with a pen, use a normal (sharp) metal drill bit in your drill without hammer (if fitted) and drill at a slow speed untill through the tile. You can if you are careful use a masonry bit (no hammer) once through the surface.

If all it needs is re-securing. just rescure it then no need to drill holes if your not comfortable doing that.

If the wall plugs are coming out of the tile, pull 'em out completely then get a new plug (a nice new one that will fit snugly into the old hole without too much forcing) and then just re- screw the rail!

Hey presto - job done and no need to re-drill and fill old holes with waterproof grout!

Sponsored Links
Hi

Complete novice here, so I'm hoping someone can help me

I just bought a house, and the shower rail is drilled into tiling at both ends.
I can see that one end of the shower rail is starting to come out and obviously needs re-securing

2 questions; what tools so I need ? Drill etc I guess ( told you I was a novice!! )...what kind of drill bit will i need etc?

second one - how do I drill the tile without shattering it?

All help gratefully received!
Didn't look at the sticky did ya? ;)

A drill with variable speeds is crucial; if you don't own one, buy one - it's a must-have tool.
Set of masonry drill bits - standard bits dull too quickly when they hit tile and concrete.