Dripping Kitchen Mixer Tap - Help please!

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Had a new kitchen mixer tap, ceramic 1/4 turn, installed less than a year ago and all has worked fine until recently with constant drips now even though the taps are closed. Here's the tap I bought from ebay http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/EIFFEL-CONTEM...ryZ29508QQssPageNameZWDVWQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem
The tap is loose so I have tried to tighten the backnut as much as possible but it is still dripping. I have replaced the O-rings at the base of the spout (well, actually had a spare spout since they made a mistake with my ebay order), but still no luck. Any help greatly appreciated! I do notice when I turn off the main stopcock in the house and open the cold tap to drain, there is still a fairly constant trickle which does not stop (have had the taps open for at least 30 mins) so I'm not sure if that is the problem as I expected that would stop the water supply to the cold tap. Yes, I am a novice but trying to be self-sufficient. Thanks :)

Links in this post may contain affiliate links for which DIYnot may be compensated.
Sponsored Links
That’s cheap taps for you I’m afraid; it’s probably one of the rubber sealing washers fitted to the end of the ceramic valves. I had exactly the same problem & was able to temporarily cure it by stripping the tap valves out & re-locating the seal but the problem always returned; I junked the tap & bought a decent one!

Depending on weather it’s a gate valve or stop cock it sounds like either it’s not fully closing or the rubber sealing washer has gone. Again, mine is the same but a little extra leverage on the tap does the trick with mine but don’t overdo it or you could bugger it completely.

Thanks Richard. Shame, I know you get what you pay for but disappointed as these taps seem on the face of it to be just the same as those at £100+ in B&Q...