Electric Showers - the inside! replaceable parts? etc

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
quick questions about electric shower!:

do they all work on the same kind if principle? i have one which I am studying (for my city & guilds course) and know it's an instantaneous water heater basically. I have installed a manual shower mixer before but these look scary inside!! :) I've been told if something goes wrong with one, it's best to just swap it for a new unit. IS this true as there does not seem to be any replaceable parts inside. Just a lot of wires, a small copper cylinder and a type of switch, which obviously controls the temp from the handle on the outside of the casing.

The model I have been looking at is a CREDA Aqua 9.5e

Any info on them would be helpful, or any links to pictures, etc?

Thanks all for your help, Steve.

Sponsored Links
9/10 parts in a electric shower are replacable.
one of the only showers that has not got replacable parts are Gainsborough showers as they have what is called a engine and you change the complete unit.
most people will say just change the whole shower thats because they don't know how to check certain parts and find a fault.
many showers i've seen changed then when you ask the customer why they have changed the complete unit and paid a few hundred for a new shower and fitting, and all they needed was a £20 part replaced.

long as you have a descent multi meter you'll be ok.
checking for continuity and resistance.

use a continuity to test and locate the pairs of heating elements
then do a resistance test a good element will give you about 18 ohms
a open circuit will be a burntout element.

tco (thermal cut out ) should have power both sides when shower on, when off it will have a closed circuit on a continuity test.

a solenoid valve in a good order is 3.4 ohms or above anything below is faulty or on its last legs.