electrical work (Scotland)

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hello

I am looking for some information

I currently under take small property repairs, pluming and minor electrical work

I am not a registered electrician,

I have been to collage and studied in electrical insulation

I am fully aware and studied the 17 the edition

I have worked supervised before, i am also competent in electrical work

When I do electrical work, where do I stand, do i have to issue a minor works certificate

Can i still do electrical work

Thanks for you help

Sponsored Links
Have you kept many of your COLLAGES of ELECTRICAL INSULATION :LOL:

Are you selling any?

I would have thought you would need to join a 'Competent Persons' scheme (if they have that in Scotland) which I would have thought they do

Most will want equivalent of 2330 level3, 17th Edition and 2391

Or you could do one of the 4 minute courses!!!

Sponsored Links
As far as im aware different councils/building control issue you with a test certificate, often a faded photocopied thing for you to fill out, although thats if building control get inbvolved.
I've done many rewires/alterations as homers, some with building control involved some without and to be honest i feel the system is very relaxed,at least compared with what I read on here with Part P.
I've never been asked to supply my qualifications although im not sure if they can check them as my name and address is on the test certificates.
Doesn't really answer your question, your best bet would probably be to phone your local council/building control and ask where you stand.

Have you kept many of your COLLAGES of ELECTRICAL INSULATION :LOL:

Are you selling any?

I would have thought you would need to join a 'Competent Persons' scheme (if they have that in Scotland) which I would have thought they do

Most will want equivalent of 2330 level3, 17th Edition and 2391

Or you could do one of the 4 minute courses!!!