Ferroli Modena 80 fluctuating DHW

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi, I have searched and read the many posts about similar problems with the Modena, however I believe my case is slightly different:

CH is OK, works fine.
DHW downstairs in the kitchen is OK, full time hot water.
DHW upstairs in the bathroom (bath) fluctuates hot & cold.

When the bath hot water is fluctuating, the boiler is not resetting, the overheat and max temp thermistors are OK.

I have had the boiler serviced by a heating engineer (2 visits) and between us (I'm an electrical engineer) we have serviced it, checked the flue and adapter plate, removed & checked the fan and venturi, checked the heat exchanger. We have tested the pressure switch, checked gas pressure. The flame detect electrode wasn't so good so we replaced that as a precaution.

Interestingly, the boiler runs fine with the front cover removed. I haven't replaced the DHW temp sensor yet (have one on order), but I'm not convinced this is the problem as the hot water downstairs works OK and the flame modulates.

So, as you can see, its been looked at by a pro (twice), I've changed a few cheap bits but thought I'd post on here for any last ditch suggestions before I look into getting a new one! Please help as the new ones don't sound much more reliable :cry:

Thanks in advance!

Sponsored Links
is it only the bath tap?

run a sink tap for a good 10mins if its ok run the bath SLOWER as its the same hw

is the flame cutting out when its going cold?
has the engineer checked the flow switch?

with regards to the case it points to venturi or Modena`s are common for white dusty crap to cling to fan blades.Small paint brush or 1 of those for eggwash i had to use recently in a womans house.

The modena is a decent boiler and 1 of the easiest to work on so id keep it

dont think your boiler is faulty, it sounds like a non return valve is passing on your shower (I hope you have got a shower) .

just re read your post