Fitting a radiator to an outbuilding.

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I have a music studio which is a completely separate building to the house. I'm thinking of fitting a radiator in it to replace the electric heaters i have (due to cost of running the things!) but to do that I would have to run the flow/return pipes underground from the house to the studio.

Its about a 6 metre run alltogether if i were to come from the radiator pipes in the house just under the window.

Ive done odd bits of DIY plumbing fitting electric showers etc (am electrical engineer by trade) but was wondering what special insulation etc i would need to run the pipes underground. Or is there outside piping that would be suitable?

Seems to be so much on the market now i would be confused as to whats best so any recommendations etc would be muchly appreciated.

cheers in advance :)

Sponsored Links
Tricky job.
Insulation will be insufficient protection.
If you can't go below frost level (about 600 mm) indoors, and come up inside the other, I would not entertain the idea.

what sort of budget could you stretch too? Might be worth considering a small air source heat pump?

Sponsored Links
what sort of budget could you stretch too? Might be worth considering a small air source heat pump?

sounds interesting! just looking into how they work etc (at this silly time in the morning but i do work in music industry lol!) yeah only thing is they aint cheap!

they seem to generate 3 units of heat for every unit of electricity (according to wikipedia) so a good invention. I see they use refrigerant so maybe i could transfer the heat that comes from the back of the beer fridge i have in the studio lol.