fitting new heating element in towel radiator

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi guys

I have recently replaced a heating element in my towel radiator and it lasted approx 2 months (!) before it started tripping out the RCD circuit that it was connected to. Can't believe I am going to have to fit another element so soon!

Pretty new to DIY, but fitted this towel radiator circa 2 years ago, so I am not a compete novice. Wondered whether anyone had any tips on best ways to clean out/inhibit the CH system to prevent the new element failing so quickly next time.

Water drains clean from the drain valve downstairs but there was still gunk in the towel radiator when I took it off the wall to fit the heating element that has just broken.

(The CH is a sealed system with plastic pipes and the element is fitted to the bottom of the towel radiator if that helps.)

Cheers

Sponsored Links
it may seem obvious but are you opening the bleed valves when draining?

plumbline have a deal on fernox aerosol inhibitors/cleansers any 2 for £25

add the cleanser and allow to work for a couple of days/week.

fill and hot/cold flush and add inhibitor.

it also may be worth investing in a magnaclean.

Magnacleans are great if you have black sediment or black water.

A sealed system does not corrode as quickly as an open-vented one.

I am not a plumber but some plastic pipes are not "barrier" type and allow air to diffuse in. Are there any markings on yours?

Yes, did open bleed valves when draining.

I haven't ever cleaned out a system before - is it as simple as adding cleaning agent, waiting for appropriate length of time and then draining system?

As for flushing the system, is this just filling and emptying it? or am i missing something more technical? And I presume inhibitor is added on the final top up of the system, before pressure is attained.