Fixing plaster board to brick wall

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Dear all,

I have a non-cavity brick wall as the end of terrace wall in my house.

The inside plaster was falling away (due to an open chimney which was blocked off downstairs but not capped off on the roof! - I've sinced capped off the chimney, stripped back all the loose plaster and cement to expose the bare brick wall. It's quite uneven and unsightly, and not being a pro, I don't feel up to the task of replastering the whole wall...I'd therefore like to use plasterboard and was wondering if I could attach it directly the brick wall using wooden batons directly screwed to the wall or if I first have to treat/bond/seal the brickwork in any way and/or coat it with cement? (I don't want to use adhesive to attach the plaster board to the wall as the wall is quite uneven and so want to use batons of differing widths which will ultimately give me a straight wall - however, if I need to first cement the wall, I understand this won't be an issue.... (hope all this makes sense!). Also, is it worth using foil backed plasterboard for added insulation as it's an end of terrace non-cavity wall? or will normal plasterboard be ok?

Many thanks for any advice.

Sponsored Links
if it were my house i would d&d some insulated plasterboards directly to the masonry using board adhesive.

by the way, is the redundant flue vented.

thanks for the reply - I don't really want to use dot and dab as the wall is uneven...but if the principle is the same, I should therefore be able to attach wooden battons directly to the brick wall and then attach the plasterboard to these? (without doing anything to the walls i.e. cement?)

(It is now! - with regards to the redundant flue)

Sponsored Links
www.insulation.kingspan.com/uk/pdf/k17.pdf