Fused socket for Immersion Heater?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi, newbie here!

I have just had a new boiler fitted. The plumber would not wire up the Immersion Heater as it 'did not have a fused socket' and obviously could not wire it up as he would then take responsibilty etc etc. All perfectly reasonable given the circumstances.

I like to think i am pretty handy with this sort of thing and would have a go myself. What exactly does he mean?

The Immersion Heater is on a dedicated circuit straight from the CU (don't let the abbreviation fool you into thinking i am an expert lol!). There is an MCB (lol! another one) for it rated at 16amps. Next to the boiler there is one of those large red switches with an LED on (damn! gave it away now!). My question is what else do i need?

Is it something like this?

http://www.choiceful.com/choiceful-id-1613-13-Amp-Switched-Fused-Connection-Unit-With-Neon.html

If so, what should it be rated at?

Most grateful for any advice.

Sponsored Links
I have just had a new boiler fitted.
I think you might mean "tank", or "cylinder", not "boiler".

Next to the boiler there is one of those large red switches with an LED on (damn! gave it away now!). My question is what else do i need?
It depends on the rating of that existing switch, but it's likely that you can use it.

Is it something like this?

http://www.choiceful.com/choiceful-...-Fused-Connection-Unit-With-Neon.html[/QUOTE]
That would replace any existing switch, and it's a perfectly suitable accessory for what you're doing. Personally, I'd buy a branded one rather than the one at that web site.

If so, what should it be rated at?
If you mean the fuse, then it should be a 13 Amp one.

I would also ensure that the flex from FCU to immersion heater is butyl sheathed, not ordinary PVC coated flex.

Sponsored Links
Yes, that's why I asked!

Some older ones are in excess of 3 kW, hence they were on a 15A fuse with a DP switch, not an FCU.