Garage Consumer Unit

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi
I'm looking to get my garage rewired. I'm not an electrician and, while I'm happy to do this myself, I'll get someone in with the right qualifications to do anything that is regulated. Before I do so I just wanted to check that my understanding is right and wondered if anyone would be able to comment.

Current setup is a single feed from the consumer unit in the house to garage via SWA that I suspect may only be 2.5mm. I'm not in a position to lay a new cable so will have to stick with that. Garage consumer is 10m from consumer unit in house (including vertical drops) and the cable is connected with a 16A mcb on the non-rcd part of the unit.

As I understand, 2.5mm (in a wall) is good up to 16A so that's ok.

In the garage I'm looking to have potentially four circuits:
Sockets - for a tumble dryer and to charge some drills etc. If I do use any tools, that'll be while tumble dryer is off.
Lights - no more than 500w in total, including outside lights.
Outside socket - max 5A
Shed - for some lights and a radio

Shed and outside socket will be no more than 6m (including vertical drop) from garage consumer unit.

I know that I can't run everything to the max but that's ok.

Questions I have are:
Is a four way consumer over the top, should I put shed and outside socket on the main socket circuit?
Do I need the incomer in the garage to be 16A? Seems obvious given house consumer is on a 16A.
Should breakers be RCD or RCBO or MCB?
What load breakers should I use - 16A on sockets, 6A elsewhere?

I know 6mm or 10mm would be much better but cannot upgrade the 2.5.
Thanks in advance.

Sponsored Links
The MCB at the house end can be changed to 20amp.

You'll only need a 2-way RCD protected "garage" consumer unit.
6A MCB for the lights
16A for everything else. They can all go on one radial circuit from the MCB. There's no point making it a ring.

Unless you have a TT supply, use a metal consumer unit like this