Getting a new boiler fitted

Thanks, I doubt they'd get another curved one, probably get a properly sized radiator somewhere else in the room.

if you, or they, are fond of DIY plumbing, you can get a surprising amount of muck out of a neglected system with £15 worth of Sentinel X400 circulated for 4 weeks (at this time of year you can turn the boiler stat down) and half an hour's work to fit a £100 Magnaclean.

It will do nothing but good, and will probably remove the need for powerflushing.

I am a householder not a pro. I guarantee you will be amazed and delighted to see how much black sediment theh Magnaclean traps, and it continues working permanently.

I would probably flush the system and tell them to get the Magnaclean fitted but I don't think they are the type that would let me do that, I am comfortable with adding chemicals (concentrate tube) but I am not sure how to seal a blank plug properly if I use a liquid type.

Sponsored Links
you mention it is a 20-year old boiler so I was envisaging an open-vented one (not pressurised) with a Feed and Expansion tank in the loft. In this case you just tip the chemical into the F&E tank and stir them in

(in fact, you should bale out any sediment from the tank first, and draw off a couple of gallons of water from the drain cock to draw the chemical into the circulating water.

Open vented systems are much easier to add chemicals to, than sealed systems.

(you can however buy the sentinel chemicals in concentrate tubes if you need to inject them.)

Sponsored Links
if you, or they, are fond of DIY plumbing, you can get a surprising amount of muck out of a neglected system with £15 worth of Sentinel X400 circulated for 4 weeks (at this time of year you can turn the boiler stat down) and half an hour's work to fit a £100 Magnaclean.

I am a householder not a pro.