Guidance for wallpapering

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi guys i'm just looking for a bit of advice I started painting our wall without any preparation and the previous paint started peeling off so I decided to remove all of it and ended up with this
2hq87tc.jpg
so instead of repainting I decided it would be easier to wallpaper and a friend suggested to use evo stik pva prior wallpapering I was wondering if this is correct or is there something else to it?

The wall is dusty and the remaining blue paint is hard to peel off I don't know what the white is also very dusty.

Thanks in advance

Sponsored Links
Those walls are in a dreadful state. My advice would be to get a plasterer to skim them, then paint them.

If you wall paper them without re-skimming, you would need to

1. Fill the worst cracks and craters with a good quality filler e.g. Toupret
2. Sand the whole room down thoroughly
3. size with wall paper size
4. Line with thick lining paper (2000 grade or preferably Wallrock) - horizontally hung if you ever plan to hang another decorative wallpaper on top.
5. Hang top paper or paint the lining.

But even then, there's no guarantee of a smooth surface.

DON'T use PVA! It's a nightmare when you come to paint it in the future - it stops the paint adhering properly.

Ok, but i'm safe to use the PVA for wallpapering? I don't think i'll be painting it ever again

also peel or leave the rest of the paint?

No, please DON'T use the PVA for wallpapering.

Use good quality wallpaper glue made up to 'size' consistency (see packet for instructions).

People think (mistakenly) that PVA will bond all the flakey bits on a grotty together and give a good base to paint or paper onto. It won't.

Sponsored Links
I recently decorated our bedroom (nearly finished) and the walls were also in a bad state.