halstead boiler........any good?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
HALSTEAD ACE HIGH COMBO BOILER not top of the range i know but i have a chance of one at 300.00. Are they decent boilers or should i steer clear?

Sponsored Links
Just check - they do do a condensing version with a very similar name.

Sponsored Links
They do cost alot

but as a breakdown engineer I rarley come across any halsteads (the ones I do are a pain to fault find)

so they must be ok

maybe you dont see them because they are not very popular boilers and in affluent Surrey they mostly have Worcesters and Vaillants?

Tony

but as a breakdown engineer I rarley come across any halsteads (the ones I do are a pain to fault find)

Halsteads are no worse than any other gas appliance (boiler) but their spare parts are A FORTUNE!

A water section repair kit is thirty quid trade from Halstead, and a fiver from Ariston.

Good job the same diaphragm fits both.

David

Agile said:
maybe you dont see them because they are not very popular boilers and in affluent Surrey they mostly have Worcesters and Vaillants?

Tony

mmm dont really get you tony, I mainly do housing assco propertys and I can tell you that they are far from affluent

Also I service loads of of them year on year, and they just seem to go on and on, so you are wrong surrey has plenty of halsteads etc

Please dont get hung up that surrey is all affluent as it not, we have hugely wealthy people and really hard up people like everyone else.

Our wealthy are not as wealthy as yours and our poor are not so poor.

There are loads of halsteads here, and as you say they don't often need parts but when they do..... :eek: :oops: :!:

OK then, I must have got the wrong impression from Chris then about Surrey.

I am sure I am right about leafy Sussex though. The roads are totally jammed up by the 4 x 4s at the school run times each day.

That must be why Vaillant base themselves south of the river to be close to their major customer base.