heating pump constantly on Y plan help needed!

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi guys,

So I thought i make another post dedicated to this 1 problem I am having, I am no expert at this but am trying to work this out. Had a pro come today to inspect, says possibly wiring problem but he didnt have a Y plan diagram, suggested I find this online and to save money can do it myself?

Anyway, I did some tests and came up with this so far, so just need someone to deciper it and tell me what I need to do.

The problem is the heating pump in the airing cupboard is constantly on, this should only be on when HW or CH is on and I think over run when its off for a few mins? Currently this doesnt stop so I have d/c the live as we dont need to use it for a while (not moved it completely yet).

Check this picture, its currently how it is wired and I used a multimeter to find out what is what and the HP (heating pump) is connected to a live even with the boiler is off. I checked the volts on 3 conditions, OFF, HW and CH only. MV = motorised valve, this is a 3 valve.

HPwiring.jpg

The numbers represent the connector block and above are cables connected to the block from the wall and below is what it is connected to. I have no idea what the cables from the wall are so did the multimeter test.

So now my concern is, could the wiring is wrong in the first place or it is correct but something is still calling for heat? At the data i made, it seems I can patch the live pump wire to either block 3 or 7 and this will mimic the power on and off. Not tested this with both CH and HW on.

please advise! I hope I've made this as clear as possible

P1000636Copy.jpg

Sponsored Links
Which boiler do you have? I suspect the pump is driven via the boiler as it's not wired to you actuator.

Sponsored Links
Remove pump L from boiler terminal strip and check if terminal is live with SW not calling/boiler cold.

what is SW?