Help with aerial system

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I currently have a system where I have an aerial A master head amp just below then a length of cable which very long I can only think its more than 70 meters which goes to a cuboard and to a PSU which then feed 4 TV points all with good signal. Now I need to feed 2 other points which are closer to the feed coming from the down feed from the aerial can I just put a splitter in that cable or is that not possible ?

Sponsored Links
if its a good clean signal you can split it and extend it you may need to boost it
i have 8 tvs on 1 aeriel and 3 boosters

Try it. A passive splitter with 2 outputs will reduce the signal by about 60% (4dB) typically. If that causes problems use an amplified splitter with a gain of at least 4dB. (I suspect the lowest you can buy is actually 6dB.)

Anything you insert will increase the amount of "noise" on the signal but, as "big-all" stated, if the signal is strong enough to begin with, the effects shouldn't be visible.

If you are splitting the signal before the current power supply, then you need to choose one with a DC passthrough on one port and use that port for the cable to the power supply. Otherwise some designs of splitter will block the power getting to the masthead amp.

Sponsored Links
Yes that's what I want to do split the cable which comes from the aerial which has a masterhead under it and have 2 more from where I split it can you recommend a splitter which will allow that power supply get to the masterhead?

That only provides one extra output.

Might look at http://www.antiference.co.uk/screened-splitter-combiners-filters-combiners
I suspect a lot of splitters will provide DC passthrough, but you'd need to check before buying.

An alternative, if the cable runs and access are amenable, would be to take the amp off the aerial pole and :