Help with lighting please.

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi I am brand new to the froum and found it trying to get an answer to my question, I have looked at the wiring diagrams but cant find the answer, apologies if it is there and I am being thick.

My questiion is in my cottage one of my bedroms has a wall 1 gang light switch and also a pull cord switch, I think it was for the old dear that used to live here so she could turn it off from bed. I want to get rid of the pull switch altogether but cant fathom the way to change the wiring.

The wall switch has a cable with two red wires one going to L1 and one going to L2 and an earth, and another cable with another red wire wired to common and an earth wire.

The pull cord switch has the same configuration a cable with red wire to L1 red wire to L2 and an earth and a cable with a red wire to common and an earth.

The switches work correctly but on lookng at the wiring diagrams for two way light switches there doesnt appear to be enough wires, can anyone explain how to remove the pull cord switch and have the light operated by the wall switch only.

many tanks in advance.

Sponsored Links
If only one wire in each terminal,you proberly have feed at one switch and switchline at the other.
You cannot then easily remove the pull switch without some rewiring

Could you not remove the cord and leave the base and wiring,

333rocky... man thanks for your reply I am not sure what you mean about live feed and switchline I presume that it is not conventionaly wired then. I might have to just cut the cord and make do... dont supposeI could just push it up into the attic still wired and then plaster over hole could I?

There are two main ways , yours is one of them,the drawings are here somewhere , it is just that yours uses , twin red cable and also single red
The twin goes from L1 and L2 to the same on other switch

One single red is live
One single red is switchlive