Hotpoint WD440G tripping my electricity board

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi all - wonder if someone can advise...

I was in the kitchen earlier, which runs off its own electricty switchboard (I'm not technically minded on these things, bear with me..).

The boiler was on, as was the radio and the washing machine. All of a sudden, everything is quiet - it's all off. Initally I thought there was a powercut, but light still on on bathroom, and on testing, all other rooms fine.

Bottom line, I unplugged everything, switched the fuseboard thing back on, and tried all appliances in random order - they're all fine until I switch the washing machine on at the mains - and it trips the switches.

I started again, and tried the washing machine first - and it tripped again.

Any idea what its likely to be?

Sponsored Links
Anyone would need to be psychic to tell you what the problem is, obviously a faulty washer, call someone out if you do not have the ability to narrow it down any. :)

it would be interesting to see a photo of this fuseboard thing.

Most likely you have an electrical fault in the washing machine. Due to the presence of water they often cause RCD tripping.

Look for the easy things that you may be able to fix yourself:

Damaged flex, plug or socket
Water leak getting onto electrical parts.

It sounds like you need a Washing Machine Repairman.

Righto - just need advice now if that's ok

Friend of a friend is a repair man.

He's been round, confirmed my above explanation (which is summary is that the machine was tripping the RCD).

There was, bizarrely, water in the 'noise cap' - this is what he called it. My take is that its a cylindrical electrical jobby that the flex feeds directly into on the inside of the machine. Right up in the top right hand corner, in no contact with anything else.

We dried it out, and voila - no more tripping.