How to drain radiator ?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi

This is a really basic question.

There is a drainage tap on my downstairs radiator, which I wish to use in order to add some Sentinel X100 & X200 to the CH system.

It has a small square bolt protruding from the side (looks as though a key should fit it, but my radiator bleed key is just too small).

There is also a flat tab sticking up vertically (underlying the plastic cover).

How do I open this tap (I've never done it before) ?

thanks

Sponsored Links
I assume you're talking about something like this...
http://www.screwfix.com/p/angled-radiator-valve-drain-off-15mm-x/70408

If you undo the "small square bolt" then water will drain from the hose connector underneath it. Use a spanner to loosen it.
The "flat tab sticking up vertically (underlying the plastic cover)" will turn off the water going into the radiator.
Where are you intending to add the Sentinel?

I assume you're talking about something like this...
http://www.screwfix.com/p/angled-radiator-valve-drain-off-15mm-x/70408

If you undo the "small square bolt" then water will drain from the hose connector underneath it. Use a spanner to loosen it.
The "flat tab sticking up vertically (underlying the plastic cover)" will turn off the water going into the radiator.
Where are you intending to add the Sentinel?

Thanks

That's exactly what I have.

I have a funnel/tube and am planning to add to the radiator at the top (the hole covered by flat hexagonal head).

So I should turn off both valves connecting radiator to CH (the one on the drain-off & the one on the other side, by turning the plastic covers clockwise), drain off a couple of litres, close the drain-off tap, add the Sentinel, then open the valves again ?

Sponsored Links
Do I need a special tool to turn the "flat tab" when isolating the radiator ?