How to use a 2 poll tester

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hello guys

I've managed to get a martindale 2 poll tester.

Can someone please explain how to use it ? Ie sockets and lighting? Or a decent youtube showing it.

I think the sole purpose of it is to see if there's voltage going through it and there is a live circuit ?

Thanks

Sponsored Links
It tests for continuity as well. Try john ward or search under voltage tester. Manufacturers tend to assume it will be used by a professional so little given in terms of instructions. However if as seems likely you an near absolute beginner start with instructional videos on the basics of electrics (volts current resistance watts etc) then proceed to how they work in practice.

Hello guys

I've managed to get a martindale 2 poll tester.

Can someone please explain how to use it ? Ie sockets and lighting? Or a decent youtube showing it.

I think the sole purpose of it is to see if there's voltage going through it and there is a live circuit ?

Thanks

What are you trying to achieve? what do you plan to test?

Most electrical testers are two pole testers. Phase rotation, and earth rod testing needs three, and you can get non contact voltage testers and clamp on ammeters, but in the main they are two pole.

The testing for dead uses a two pole tester with no selection switch and no battery, the idea is you can't in error select wrong range or have discharged batteries. It also should have a tester for the tester called a proving unit that will show the tester will detect low voltage, so should use 50 volt AC to show tester is working, it may also use higher voltages, but must show if any low voltage is present, and low voltage AC starts at 50 volt and goes to 1000 volt.