Ideal icos he24 boiler constant 'c' with banging noises

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi All, Our Ideal icos he24 boiler display constantly shows 'c' and the reset does not work. It heats up the water and central heating. But makes loud banging sounds when the CH demand is turning off. Then shows HA over heat error code. After few minutes goes back to 'c' and repeats.
I think if it resets to go back to '0' when there is no demand then the problem will be solved.
My understanding is- when CH demand is off, the motorised valve closes, but the boiler is still on. This heats up the water in heat exchanger to boiling which causes banging noises as water has no where to go. This over heating leads to HA code.
I suspect it is the faulty control pcb which is stopping the reset to '0'. Pressure is set to 1bar after bleeding all radiators.
I am not an expert. Any thoughts about anything else that may be faulty? Your help will be appreciated. Thank you

Sponsored Links
Your motorised valve is faulty. Is it a mid position. ( 3 port ) valve ?

I believe, the motorised valve is 2 port. It is attached to a straight pipe. I believe it allows or stops the flow depending on whether there is demand or not

Sponsored Links
I can see that the lever on one valve slides perfectly whereas one on other is kinda stuck at closed position. But this valve does open and close as we do get hot radiators when ON.
The banging sounds come only when demand is going off. I presume this is when valve should close, Isn't it?
Still don't know why boiler can't reset to '0' status.

Motorised valve could be on wrong way. Something is sending a switch live back by the sounds of it, but could be the microswitch is stuck, which is essentially what @terryplumb has suggested.

Looks like the motorised valve needs replacing.
Not sure why reset shouldn't work on the boiler though.

I suspect it is the faulty control pcb which is stopping the reset