Immersion heater

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi all,

A newbie here with next to no technical know-how (and that's being kind to myself).

I've got a water heater with a timer set up in a rental flat. The lady has said over the weekend that she's had no hot water.

I've popped round this AM and there is a switch (with a light) that leads to the timer - the light comes on, but the timer appears to have no power going to it.

I've bought a new timer and am getting this installed tonight - does it sound like a case of the timer having gone (it's a Smiths ETU7000) and i've bought a Diall immersion heater (EMT551ET) timer from B&Q.

Hopefully this will do the job... reckon so?

Last edited:
Sponsored Links
If the existing timer has no power going to it then neither will the replacement one.

How have you determined that there is "no power"?

If the existing timer has no power going to it then neither will the replacement one.

How have you determined that there is "no power"?

cheers

I've assumed there's no power as previously the lady had hot water, and there were lights on the timer and now there are no lights, and no hot water....

"Assuming" can be a very lengthy process where you assume one thing is broken, buy it, then find there's a different fault to the one that you "assumed". Even worse, you can end up blowing the new thing that you bought because of your wrong assumption.

You need a multimeter, or a two probe mains voltage tester and, with respect, the knowledge to understand what the readings mean. . Without that you are trully peeing in the dark, and your tenant will not want another day washing herself in a kettle-full of water.

I'm sure she's pays a decent amount of rental, get someone who knows what they are doing….

Sponsored Links
Thanks....

I've got a sparky going round tonight so he will have all the tools etc.

So the new timer is in.