Inductive Proximity Sensors

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I need to make up a device which will warn the operator of a combine if a pulley stops turning. I was thinking of using a couple of inductive prox sensors to do this, (2 so that if the pulley should stop in front of one sensor it will not think its still spinning, because the second sensor will be positioned so its not possible for both sensors to be sensing at the same time.) I will then use a timer arrangement to switch a relay etc but this I can design later. What I am wondering is if I need a PNP sensor or NPN. I studied electronics a few years ago but this has got me thinking, I cant remember it all that well! Can someone explain the difference to me again please. Also How quick will a prox sensor detect an object in front of it, bearing in mind the pulley will be spinning at about 800 rpm!? Thanks for your input. Chris

Sponsored Links
PNP switches + , NPN switches -

At 800 rpm you will not be able to work it with relays alone. It will need some form of high speed counter like a PLC or logic relay.

Sponsored Links
An NPN output is effectively a switch ( transistor ) between the output and the 0volt rail. This will sink current ( positive current flowing into the output ) and can be used with a pull up resistor to create a digital signal refenced to ground. These can be interfaced directly into logic using a pull resistor connected the logic supply rail.

A PNP is effectively a switch ( transistor ) between the output and the sensors supply rail. This will source current ( positive current flowing out of the output ). These cannot be interfaced directly to logic unless the logic supply rail is the same voltage as the sensor supply rail. In most cases a level shifting circuit is required between the sensor and the logic.