Install toilet syphon

Discussion in 'Plumbing and Central Heating' started by Toocheaptopaysomeone, 28 Jun 2007.

  1. Toocheaptopaysomeone

    Joined:
    28 Jun 2007
    Messages:
    8
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I am replacing the syphon on my toilet. Bought exactly the same one so know it is the correct type. I took out the old one and am trying to fit the new one but it just refuses to go it the hole. Tried hammering it in but don't want to break it. Any tips on how to install.

    Thanks
     
  2. clf-gas

    Joined:
    2 Mar 2007
    Messages:
    3,453
    Thanks Received:
    63
    Location:
    Lancashire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Ok good ;)

    Now not so good :rolleyes:

    Getting worse :eek:

    Yes, Put the hammer away, now get the corrct syphon in the morning ;)
     
  3. Toocheaptopaysomeone

    Joined:
    28 Jun 2007
    Messages:
    8
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    But it is the right one. It's exactly the same as the one I've just took out! :evil:
     
  4. clf-gas

    Joined:
    2 Mar 2007
    Messages:
    3,453
    Thanks Received:
    63
    Location:
    Lancashire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Have you compared the outlets, your new one seems larger.

    Will it not work in using a screwing motion.....OOPS :oops:
     
  5. JohnD

    Joined:
    15 Nov 2005
    Messages:
    38,471
    Thanks Received:
    1,543
    Location:
    Hampshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    the new ones all deformed out of shape where it's been hammered.
     
  6. Toocheaptopaysomeone

    Joined:
    28 Jun 2007
    Messages:
    8
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I have compared them and they are definitely the same. The old one took a bit of effort to get out because it's supposed to be tight isn't it? I had to break it up to get out! Maybe the wrong one was in to start with

    The new ones not out of shape at all. Maybe I need to hammer harder! It doesn't screw in as there is not enough space in the cistern to rotate it.
     
  7. JohnD

    Joined:
    15 Nov 2005
    Messages:
    38,471
    Thanks Received:
    1,543
    Location:
    Hampshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    can you post some photos?

    Youve got the cistern out, and removed the rubber washer?
     
  8. Toocheaptopaysomeone

    Joined:
    28 Jun 2007
    Messages:
    8
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The syphon is a shires twinflow syphon. There is one for sale on e-bay if you want to look at it.

    I've got the thing in most of the way now. The rubber washer is in place but there is about 1/4 inch left to get in so the cistern won't leak. I think I just need to give it a good wack!
     
  9. gas4you

    Joined:
    23 Feb 2007
    Messages:
    17,947
    Thanks Received:
    858
    Location:
    Norfolk
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You don't by chance mean you are trying to put the donut into the bottom of the cistern instead of on the outside??
     
  10. clf-gas

    Joined:
    2 Mar 2007
    Messages:
    3,453
    Thanks Received:
    63
    Location:
    Lancashire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    DONT WHACK IT :eek:

    Work it baby work it ;)
     
  11. Toocheaptopaysomeone

    Joined:
    28 Jun 2007
    Messages:
    8
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Dave,

    I don't quite understand what you mean. The syphon is one part - it doesn't separate so I am unsure about what you mean by the donut
     
  12. JohnD

    Joined:
    15 Nov 2005
    Messages:
    38,471
    Thanks Received:
    1,543
    Location:
    Hampshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    here's your ebay photo, but I'd be interested to see a pic of how you're fitting it into your cistern. Especially as the advertiser says

    "No need to dismantle cystern.
    Can be serviced in 5 mins"

    [​IMG]
     
  13. Toocheaptopaysomeone

    Joined:
    28 Jun 2007
    Messages:
    8
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I've taken a picture of the cistern but have no idea how to up load it - I'm a bit of a technophobe! I think the problem is that the syphon should be screwed in but I can't be physically srewed in because there is not enough room to rotate it in the cistern. I think I will give up and call a plumber!
     
  14. gas4you

    Joined:
    23 Feb 2007
    Messages:
    17,947
    Thanks Received:
    858
    Location:
    Norfolk
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Syphon should just push into hole in bottom of cistern, with a thin rubber seal, or silicone, between it and the cistern, this is then held in place by the large plastic nut that is screwed up under the cistern, after the metal 'bolt holder' if it is a close coupled cistern and pan.
     
  15. JohnD

    Joined:
    15 Nov 2005
    Messages:
    38,471
    Thanks Received:
    1,543
    Location:
    Hampshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom

Share This Page