Just after a ball park figure before I attempt DIY!

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I'm looking to decorate my living room/dining room and I was just after a ballpark figure for what a decorator would charge. The rooms are 3.65m x 3.5m and 3m x 3m. The dividing wall was knocked down and shaped into an arch.

What I'm looking to do is :

- Put covings up along all 4 walls of both rooms (including 1 chimney breast).
- Put wallpaper up on chimney breast
- Line and paint the rest of the walls
- Paint the covings
- give the roof a lick of paint

Any ideas what sort of price range I'd be looking at?

I don't know whether or not to put covings up myself as I'm a novice DIYer and would rather someone experienced did the work, however if the price is too high I may have to just have a go!

Sponsored Links
Do the ceilings not need painting as well? (Or is that what you mean by 'roof'? The roof is outside, on top of your property). And please don't ask a professional to quote for applying 'a lick of paint'! We would either paint it properly or not paint it at all. Painting it properly means rubbing down if nec and applying two coats of good quality emulsion.

Skirting boards?

Window frames/sills?

Door frames/doors?

Do the ceilings not need painting as well? (Or is that what you mean by 'roof'? The roof is outside, on top of your property). And please don't ask a professional to quote for applying 'a lick of paint'! We would either paint it properly or not paint it at all. Painting it properly means rubbing down if nec and applying two coats of good quality emulsion.

Skirting boards?

Window frames/sills?

Door frames/doors?

Yes clearly I meant ceilings, was in a rush writing the original post... Surely that was obvious, not sure how I could possibly mean roof!