Kitchen electrics alterations

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi, so I wanted to just get the opinion of some of you on here on my plans to alter the electrics in my kitchen. Some background on myself, I am an avid DIYer and will try anything once. I've had basic experience with electrical work and would deem myself competent in altering existing circuits.

My property is from the 1970s but before I purchased it, it seems to have had an entire rewire & new CU within the last 10 years. All the sockets downstairs (bar 1 which is on a 16amp MCB for the burglar alarm) are on 1 32amp MCB with RCD protection. We have changed the layout of our kitchen & dining room, we had a wall removed that split the two and we plan to move the kitchen into the dining room and dining room into the old kitchen. In the (current) dining room there are no sockets at all. In the old kitchen there are 2 double sockets & 1 cooker socket/switch (which is on it's own breaker with 4mm T+E).

The start of the ring main is the first socket in the old kitchen, I plan to move this socket as it is currently at kitchen worktop height and have it as a "new" dining room socket. I then want to extend this to another socket in the dining room area, before then extending into the kitchen and adding 4/5 new sockets in where the new kitchen will be, with switched fused spurs from a few of the sockets for appliances.
I also then plan to extend the cooker feed using Wago 222 & Wago junction box for maintenance free, as this will be ran under the subfloor, into the new kitchen so that the cooker is still on it's own breaker.

Does anyone see any problems with these alterations and am I right in saying that none of this is notifiable. And although probably recommended I won't need an EIC for any of this work, correct?

Sponsored Links
Type A Rcd needed, Minor works cert needed and how are you going to test all this before carrying out the work and then on completion