Lawn Edging Help

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi there

i'm new to this so apologies I'm this has been asked before. I would like to create some borders in my garden cut out from the lawn and use block paving stones as edging so that I can mow the lawn over the stones.

I'm just not sure how to lay them. Do I need to cement them in? Any help or opinions would be great before I write my first entry in the DIY disasters section ha ha.

Thanks

Sponsored Links
just finished doing 60m of this today. Bed them on about 3-4 inches of semi dry lean concrete with a small haunch behind.

Something like 4 stone 3 sand 1 cement. same mix for haunching but a bit wetter.

just finished doing 60m of this today. Bed them on about 3-4 inches of semi dry lean concrete with a small haunch behind.

Something like 4 stone 3 sand 1 cement. same mix for haunching but a bit wetter.

Sorry for my ignorance but can you explain again. I'm a total novice so don't even know what a haunch is. When you're talking about the cement mix can you explain the quantities please. You mentioned 4 stone 3 sand 1 cement?

Can I also ask if it's easy enough to make curves with the block paving. I plan to keep it relatively straight as that seems simpler.

I'm starting to worry that maybe this job is a bit advanced for me but I'm willing to learn.

Its honestly very simple. Dig as trench a spades width than and about 6 inches deep (assuming your blocks are 50mm)

The quantities i mentioned are purely a ratio by volume. 4 shovels of stone (10mm) 3 shovels of sand (any will do but sharp or plastering best) 1 shovel of cement.

Obviously the smaller the paving block the tighter a curve you can make without cutting. You can make sharper curves but then that will leave gaps on the outside of the curve.