Lights

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
hi all,

i have a couple issues with my light fixtures:

1) the fixture wont work at all and i suspect it might be because of an old leak in the bedroom ceiling that's put it out of action (there's a water mark around the fixture)

2) the two-way switch at the top of the stairs isn't connected properly in that it's not fully interchangable. For example, if you turn the light on upstairs, you can go downstairs and it'll switch off and then on from that switch. But if you switch the light off upstairs, you can't switch it on from downstairs! Madness!

Are these issues that an electrician would be able to fix without too much bother? I'm a novice when it comes to these and so would like an idea of what i'd be getting myself in to!

Any input would be appreciated..

Thanks

Sponsored Links
Hi
With regards to the lighting circuit that doesn't work, it is unlikely that a leak should permanently put it out of action. The first step would be to isolate the circuit at the consumer unit. Hopefully the lighting circuit is identified. It should have a 6amp MCB (Circuit breaker) or 5 amp fuse (Old style boards) Then open up the light fitting and switch and check that all the connection are tight. Check for signs of corrosion. If the fitting has had a leak, you may find the wires corroded. If this is the case, try to cut off the corroded part and strip the insulation back to bare some fresh wire. If you have no slack in the cable, then you may have to get a new cable put in. Another possibility is that as the supply for light fittings normally daisy chain from one fitting to the next that the fitting down the line from this one has a wire disconnected which would mean that this one has no supply.