LightwaveRF TRVs

I have been adding bits to my house automation for around 6 months, and it works really really well.

My first decision was whether to use LightwaveRF (I like the switches) or choose another more universal standard. I settled on z-wave plus the RFX module because z-wave is by far the most common. And the RFX module lets me add Lightwave RF, plus loads of other non-z-wave kit and control it all from one place.

My setup:
Vera Lite controller plus RFX module
4 Lightwave RF switches
Aeon labs 4 in one multisensor (temp, humidity, proximity, light sensor)
4 TKB power switches that also monitor elec usage to control Xmas lights, PC etc
Fibaro power relay to turn on Immersion Heater on a schedule
2 Fibaro smoke detectors
Z Wave secure heating controller

As you can see all from different manufacturers, but works perfectly together. I can set schedules, alerts, scenes that do multiple things in order etc.

The controller lets you do clever stuff like check the weather forecast and turn on the immersion heater if it is going to be cold, or turn down the heating if it senses no-one is in the house (like no movement and no-one has touched the lights)

I also have a scene set so that if the fire alarm goes off all the lights go on in the house and then after 30 seconds flash on and off as an extra alert. Then the system emails and texts me an alert and sends me the exact temperature on each floor.

I'm not a techy by the way. This is all easy to do with out-of-the-box configuration.

Sponsored Links
That sounds impressive and exactly the sort of thing I want to do and thought I could do with lightwave until I found out hk the serious limitations at present with their one way communicating chips.