1. We are pleased to announce the 'Home Automation' forum. Click here to get involved!

loop impedence on a tt system

Discussion in 'Electrics UK' started by unclebubble, 2 Oct 2007.

  1. unclebubble

    Joined:
    15 Jun 2007
    Messages:
    31
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    This is the first time I've done a test on a TT system and I'm a bit stuck on the readings I am getting for loop impedence.
    My Ze reading is 9.7 ohms which I think is ok(pretty sure I'm reading regs ok saying 21 ohms max)
    The only thing is every reading I am getting from every circuit be it the end of the line or not is 2000 ohms.Its like it reads it and it just keeps giving me that.I am testing with a Fluke tester and there is no way to change the loop setting.
    Now do I need to get another loop impedence tester with a setting selector or as I'm reading the regs---having a 100ma RCD protecting every circuit(as impedence reading is so high)is ok and I can just leave the readings I'm getting and write those down(this is a periodic inspection and report)
    Any help would be great as NICEIC help line not much assistance thanks!
     
  2. GaryMo

    Joined:
    3 Jul 2007
    Messages:
    4,113
    Thanks Received:
    165
    Location:
    Manchester
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    If you have a Ze reading of 9.7ohms then why aren't you getting an earth fault loop impedance reading?
    What are your R1+R2 readings?

    If your R1+R2 readings and Ze test out OK then I would look at borrowing another meter.
     
  3. Albert

    Joined:
    17 Feb 2004
    Messages:
    700
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    sorry I do not have much experience testing TT but have with the Fluke, when toy read in continuity 2000 ohm means no continuity. Normally Zs is a live test so the meter will buzzz if ther is no power. As mentioned above I would check again continuity.[/code]
     
  4. unclebubble

    Joined:
    15 Jun 2007
    Messages:
    31
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yeah the installation is energised and working.I haven't done R1+R2 yet it would be a be unreal that every circuit had bad continuity(I know its poss!)
    There are 15 circuits on this board so the house is large!One circuit I have just put in is a shower and it is still reading 200 ohms(I have done R1+R2 on this circuit its fine)The tester is telling me I have L N E and it beeps like it normally does when I do a test!I know TT systems are quite rare so I'm well confused perhaps I should just get another meter!!
     
  5. GaryMo

    Joined:
    3 Jul 2007
    Messages:
    4,113
    Thanks Received:
    165
    Location:
    Manchester
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Forget it being TT, it won't matter.
    You have a Ze of 9.7ohms and an acceptable R1+R2 reading on your shower circuit (out of interest, what was the reading?) so you should see a healthy Zs reading. If not then it's the meter at fault.
     
  6. plugwash

    Joined:
    28 Mar 2004
    Messages:
    8,804
    Thanks Received:
    263
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    where exactly are you taking your Ze reading from?

    It sounds to me like there is a fault between where you are taking your Ze reading from and the earth bar of the CU.
     
  7. fireman22

    Joined:
    18 Mar 2005
    Messages:
    796
    Thanks Received:
    10
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    what model fluke is it???
     
  8. securespark

    Joined:
    11 Jan 2004
    Messages:
    25,875
    Thanks Received:
    488
    Location:
    Cheshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Are you SURE that Ze reading is taken correctly?

    Switch the CU isolator off.

    Disconnect the main earthing conductor from its terminal.

    In effect, you should now have a live, neutral and earth that are not connected to anything.

    Now test your Ze from these.

    What is the reading now?
     
  9. unclebubble

    Joined:
    15 Jun 2007
    Messages:
    31
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yep I've done everything that everyone suggested the first time around.I am doind the Ze at source(consumer unit)connected and un connected my earth stake is fine I'm getting 63 ohms.
    I'm going back tomorrow to try and see if I can solve this prob I'll keep you all posted!
     
  10. fireman22

    Joined:
    18 Mar 2005
    Messages:
    796
    Thanks Received:
    10
    Country:
    United Kingdom
     
  11. Paul Barker

    Joined:
    4 Aug 2005
    Messages:
    9,667
    Thanks Received:
    874
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Then ze is 63 ohms plus you might have a good meter and a bad main earth conductor.
     

Share This Page